DCs' Desk
Tariq Hussain Ganai, KAS Deputy Commissioner

In the age of globalization, as planet earth shrinks into a small village, Information Technology is changing our lives in unprecedented ways. The advent of IT revolution has made it possible for the information to flow, perhaps, as fast as the speed of light. One cannot rule out that windows of future may not be made of glass but of software. The current regime of transparent and efficient governance also necessitates the creation of a robust IT interface. The website created for District Ramban contains information regarding various facets of the district. The web portal is citizen friendly with features that diminish the distance between the citizens and administration. I Congratulate NIC, Ramban for developing the website. Efforts shall be to keep it updated in future also..

District Ramban

Ramban District was carved-out of the erstwhile District Doda keeping in view the backwardness, remoteness and aspiration of people of the area. District Ramban started functioning as independent unit on April 01, 2007. Terrain of district Ramban is tough and hilly. District Ramban shares its boundary with Reasi, Udhampur, Doda, Anantnag and Kulgam

Revenue Department is the multifaceted Organization in the administrative set up of the District. The department at the District Level is headed by Deputy Commissioner. The Department is responsible for preparation of revenue records, viz, jamabandies, Girdawari etc, land acquisition, relief & rehabilitation, Conduct of Elections, Maintainence of law & order, issuance of PRC/ Domicile/ Category Certificates, providing assistance to militancy related victims under SRO-43, etc.

District Ramban has the following Administrative Units:

Sub divisions Tehsils Niabats
  1. Ramsoo
  2. Banihal
  3. Gool
  1. Banihal
  2. Ramban
  3. Khari
  4. Rajgarh
  5. Batote
  6. Gool
  7. Pogal Paristan (Ukhral)
  1. Ind
  2. Banihal
  3. Chamalwas
  4. Ramsoo
  5. Ramban
  6. Dandrath
  7. Batote
  8. Gool
  9. Neel
  10. Chanderkot
  11. Gundi-Dharam
  12. Tethhar
  13. Senabati-Paristan
  14. Balihote
  15. Sanasar b
  16. Gandhari
  17. Mohu-Mangit
  18. Rajgarh
  19. Sangaldan

Ramban is located at 33°14" N and 75°017" E longitudes with an altitude of 1000 M from Sea level.

To harness the hydroelectric potential of River Chenab state government started construction of 900 MW Baglihar Hydro electric Power Project at Chanderkote. Ist phase of 450 MWs has been commissioned with a cost of 5827 Crore. Another Hydro Electric Project of 1850 MWs is coming up at Sawalakote.

chenani nashri tunnel

Built at an altitude of 1,200 meters, the 10.89 km tunnel would cut the travel distance between Jammu and Srinagar by about 40 kilometres, and is expected to save passengers over 2 hours in travel time as it will bypass snow- and landslide-prone Kud, Patnitop and Batote on National Highway 44. According to estimates, it also promises fuel savings of over Rs 27 lakh per day and will also provide better connectivity to people in Kishtwar, Doda and Bhaderwah in the Jammu region. The work on the twin-tube tunnel, which is part of National Highway Authority of India's (NHAI's) 286-km-long four-lane project on the highway, started on May 23, 2011, in the lower Himalayan mountain range. The project forms part of the proposed widening of NH-44 (old NH-1A) from Jammu to Srinagar. Hailed as an engineering marvel, this marks significant roadbuilding firsts in India, including an unprecedented stress on user safety. Amongst its host of intelligent road tunnel features are: Integrated traffic control system, Entrance Detection Control System, Active Firefighting System, Electronic Surveillance System, Evacuative Broadcast System, Tunnel Ventilation System

Notice Board for circulars/orders
Date Order/Circular Subject
14/03/2017 SPO Recruitment:- Engagement of Special Police Officers (SPOs) in District Ramban-Revised Physical Test Schedule
--Deputy Commissioner, Ramban
08/03/2017 SPO Recruitment:- Engagement of Special Police Officers (SPOs) in District Ramban-Physical Test Postponed
--Deputy Commissioner, Ramban
25/02/2017 SPO Recruitment:- Engagement of Special Police Officers (SPOs) in District Ramban
--Deputy Commissioner, Ramban
03/11/2016 Circular:- regarding sanctioning of Casual Leave(CL) in favour of All District Officers/Other Officers working in the territorial jurisdiction of District Ramban
--District Development Commissioner, Ramban
12/08/2016 New Web Site of District Ramban Launched.
Visitors are requested to extend their feedback at jkram[at]nic[dot]in. Web Site is under updation. Please bear with us.
--ADIO NIC Ramban

Citizen Services

This section provides you information and useful links to avail various Citizen Services, offered by the Union and State/UT Governments of India. We are committed to adding more such Services as and when they come into effect with a view to providing the best online platform to the Users, keeping pace with the changing time and trend. Keep visiting this section for new updates.

District Officers-Ramban
S. No. Designation Name Office# Mobile
S. No. Designation Name Office# Mobile
1Deputy Commissioner RambanTariq Hussain Ganai2667899469562000
2Addl. Distt. Dev. Commisisoner RambanRavinder Nath Sadhu2669149419121574
3ADC RambanAngrez Singh Rana2666309419114673
4ACR RambanVivek Puri2669039419150193
5Assistant Commissioner (Dev), RambanJhangir Khanday2668009419091331
6Assistant Director, CA&PD, RambanAb. Rashid Ganie2664979419166081
7Assistant Director, Employment RambanBhumika Sharma2667469797655964
8Assistant Director, Handicrafts RambanWahid-ul-Rehman 9018330900
9Asstt. Director Fisheries RambanFayaz Ahmad Fayaz 9419167645
10Asstt. Regional Transport Officer, RambanShammi Kumar 9419197999/ 9797590989
11Chief Agriculture Officer RambanK.K Sharma2660599419261725
12Chief Animal Husbandry Officer, Ramban 266797 
13Chief Education Officer, RambanChander Shekhar2669159419134344
14Chief Horticulture Officer, Ramban   
15Chief Medical Officer, RambanDr. Saif-Ud-Din2667969419167643
16Chief Planning Officer, RambanUttam Singh266078/ 2669009419164335
17DFO, BatoteAmrik Singh2442249419236135
18DFO, RambanZuhaib Choudhary2666239419783428
19District Information Officer, RambanRajinder Singh 9419166630/ 9697557499
20District Sheep Husbandry Officer RambanVikas Gupta 9419160346
21District Social Welfare Officer, RambanVarunjeet Singh Charak2669079419109773
22District Statics & Evaluation Officer, RambanSubash Chander 9796894742
23District Treasury Officer, RambanRomesh Kumar26668994193184777
24General Manager DIC Ramban   
25XEN. PMGSY BanihalIshwar lal Bhagat 9419964668
26XEN. PMGSY RambanAjay Kr. Raju2449359419161196
27XEN. EM&RE, BatoteHabib Choudhary2442319419195892
28XEN. Hydraulic Division RambanVijay Gupta2662879419150364
29XEN. PWD (R&B) RambanS.S Andhi2666499419194975