About District

Ramban District was carved-out of the erstwhile District Doda keeping in view the backwardness, remoteness and aspiration of people of the area. District Ramban started functioning as independent unit on April 01, 2007. Terrain of district Ramban is tough and hilly. District Ramban shares its boundary with Reasi, Udhampur, Doda, Anantnag and Kulgam

Revenue Department is the multifaceted Organization in the administrative set up of the District. The department at the District Level is headed by Deputy Commissioner. The Department is responsible for preparation of revenue records, viz, jamabandies, Girdawari etc, land acquisition, relief & rehabilitation, Conduct of Elections, Maintainence of law & order, issuance of PRC/ Domicile/ Category Certificates, providing assistance to militancy related victims under SRO-43, etc.

Ramban district has three assembly constituencies: Ramban, Banihal and Gool

The climate of the District varies according to altitude. The temperature rises as high as 42 °C in the low-lying areas like Ramban town located in between steep Mountains on the banks of river Chenab and drops to sub zero in the high altitude areas like Sangaldan,Gool, Dhagantop, Asthanmarg,Lalagundi, Budhan. The working season in most of the district is about eight months because of typical weather conditions in the district.

Major Towns and Villages

  • Ramban
  • Banihal
  • Batote
  • Gool
  • Khari
  • Mohu-Mangit
  • Ramsu
  • Pugal
  • Alinbass
  • Neel
  • Paristan
  • Sangaldan
  • Rajgarh
  • Sanasar
  • Chanderkote
  • Telli majra
  • zaban (nowgam)
  • Tethar
  • Kuthtal
  • Takia
  • Lambar
  • Chreel
  • nowgam
  • Soomber
  • Bhajmasta
  • Vernahal
  • sarbagni